Board of Directors:Staff:
Thomas B. Orlando, PresidentAnn Murray, Executive Director
Emil Zbella, Vice PresidentKitty Rothschild, Transition Director
John Covell, SecretaryJohn Lee, Program Coordinator
Will McGrath, TreasurerMaria Valdes-Vargas, Program Coordinator
Jayne Alofs 
Mark Ball 
Jonathan Becker
Charles Bower
Michael Chaney
Sarah Forbes Orwig
Lionel Go
Patricia Heimann
Susan Lape
Harry Porterfield
Michael Rose
Gregg M. Simon
Brant Taylor
Frank Villella
Edward Wheatley
Sergey Zaks
From the Executive Director

ann murray

Dear Friends--

I’ve had the privilege of being part of the International Music Foundation since 1989 and of leading this vibrant little organization since 2001 when I took over from its founder, Al Booth.  Over that time, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting many of you through our programming – perhaps you, one of the Hess loyal fan-club – or you, one of the robust DIY Messiah vocalists – or you, one of our Live Music Now! students listening open-mouthed to the unmistakable sound of live performance.

As one of Chicago's landmark musical institutions, the International Music Foundation has been quietly and efficiently fulfilling its mission for almost 40 years.  Why? Because we believe—

  • Listening to high-quality live music engages, energizes and gives remarkable pleasure to our audiences.
  • Emerging artists both deserve and need the opportunity to perform for receptive and discerning audiences.

My staff and I roll up our sleeves every day—behind the scenes—to bring free music of the highest quality to adults and children in Chicago. And we wouldn’t have it any other way.  We would of course be so pleased if reading this letter encourages you to get more involved, perhaps even make a donation to help our work along.

Thanks for reading this letter…  We value all of you who connect with our programs – because without an audience, music is only half a miracle.  


Ann Murray
Executive Director

11 E. Adams St., Suite 350-B
Chicago, IL 60603
Phone: 312/670-6888
Fax: 312/670-9166