Risus Quartet

Haeni Lee and Jieun Yoo, violins

Mary Eunkyung Chang, viola

Bobae Lee, cello

October 6, 2021

Dame Myra Hess Concerts

Dave Schwan, host


Franz Schubert (1797-1828) – Quartettsatz in C minor, D 703 (1820) (9’) 

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) – String Quartet No.6 in F minor, Op.80  (1847) (27’)

I. Allegro vivace assai 

II. Allegro assai 

III. Adagio 

IV. Finale: Allegro molto

This week’s concert is generously sponsored by Mr. Neal Ball.

The Risus Quartet, formed in South Korea and based in Austin, TX, is the quartet in residence at the Butler School of Music at the University of Texas, Austin’s Young Professional String Quartet Program. The group received both the Gold Medal and Grand Prize in the 2021 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition. The Risus Quartet takes its name from the Latin word Risus, which means to laugh. Through music and performance, the quartet strives to bring joy and laughter to audiences and inspire future generations of classical lovers.

Violinist Haeni Lee earned her Doctorate in Violin Performance at the University of Texas at Austin. She also holds degrees from Seoul National University and Indiana University. She has won numerous prizes and awards including the First Prize at the ENKOR International Music Competition, as well as prizes at the UT String Concerto Competition, Coltman Chamber Music Competition and Indiana Concerto Competition. She is a frequent participant of music festivals, including the Music Academy of West, Pacific Music Festival, Tanglewood Music Center, and Texas Music Festival.

Born in South Korea, violinist Jieun Yoo started playing at the age of four. She received her Master of Music at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music, where she studied under Mark Kaplan. During her time there, she received many awards, including the Artist Excellence Award and multiple scholarships. Jieun also holds a Bachelor of Music from Seoul National University. She performed as a soloist with the Indiana Chamber Orchestra in 2018, and has participated in summer festivals including New York String Orchestra Seminar and Pacific Music Festival.

Violist Mary Eunkyung Chang began her viola studies at the age of eleven, and earned her Master of Music and Performance Diploma at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, studying under Stephen Wyrczynski. She also earned her Bachelor’s from Seoul National University under the tutelage of Eun Sik Choi. During her time in Indiana, she was awarded multiple scholarships including the Jacobs Chairman’s Scholar Award, and had notable performances opportunities, including Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante with Arthur Fagen and the Jacobs School of Music Chamber Orchestra, as well as a performance with Thomas Wilkins and the Jacobs School of Music’s Philharmonic Orchestra.

Born in Seoul, South Korea, cellist Bobae Lee received her Bachelor of Music from Seoul National University, studying under Prof. Cheong Sim Baek, and completed her Master of Music and Master of Musical Arts at Yale, studying under Professors Aldo Parisot, Ole Akahoshi, and Paul Watkins. While pursuing a doctoral degree at UT Austin under Professor Bion Tsang, she was accepted to the professional string quartet program at UT. She has received many awards and prizes, including the Aldo Parisot Prize in Yale and the Grand Prize in KCO in Seoul, and was a winner of Yale’s Chamber Music Competition in 2017 and 2018.


Read program notes here

Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts are presented in partnership with 98.7 WFMT.
Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts are made possible through the generosity of the Paul M. Angell Family Foundation, the Ann and Gordon Getty Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts and the Illinois Arts Council.
Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts are presented in association with the Seventeenth Church of Christ, Scientist, Chicago.

Don’t miss pianist Yoon-Wha Roh 

next week on the

Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts!

Wednesday October 13, 12:15pm

Pin It on Pinterest