A FREE concert series every Wednesday

TIME:  12:15 pm


LOCATION: Virtually until further notice




Claude Debussy – Violin Sonata in g minor, L. 140
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor – Suite for Violin and Piano, Op. 3
Igor Frolov – Concert Fantasy On Themes from Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess, Op. 19
Clara Schumann – Romances, Op. 11
Frédéric Chopin – Ballade No. 3 in A-flat Major, Op. 47
Maurice Ravel – Gaspard de la nuit, M. 55

August 4 — Grant Park Music Festival 2021 Project Inclusion String Fellows

Allison Lovera and Audrey Lee, violins
Cole Randolph, viola
Edwardo Rios, cello
Tomeka Reid – Prospective Dwellers
Alexander Borodin –  Quartet No. 2 in D Major
Jessie Montgomery –  Voodoo Dolls
J.S. Bach – Sonata BWV 1031 in E-flat Major
Francis Poulenc – Sonata for flute and piano, FP 164
Stephanie Ann Boyd – Songbird *USA premiere
Ludwig van Beethoven – Sonata No. 4 for Cello and Piano Op. 102, No. 1 in C Major
Zoltán Kodály – Sonatina for Cello and Piano
Rita Strohl  – Solitude (Reverie)
Claude Debussy – Sonata for Cello and Piano in D minor
José Resta – Tres Danzas
Lía Cimaglia- Recuerdos de mi tierra
Lilián Saba  – Two Pieces
Adolfo Cipriota – Bocetos del Litoral
Osvaldo Golijov  – Levante


The Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts are made possible through the generosity of the Paul M. Angell Family Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Illinois Arts Council Agency, and the Union League Club of Chicago.

Broadcast live on WFMT 98.7 fm and streamed live at www.wfmt.com.

Listen to selected past performances at www.classicalconnect.com.


Myra Hess said of her founding of the National Gallery concert series in wartime London: “I have felt again and again that music was available almost exclusively for a privileged section of the community; and I have wondered how it would be possible to reach the many thousands of potential music-lovers, who were surely to be found outside this limited world of concert-goers. Though it seemed so impossible, I longed to throw open the doors to the very best music, at a price which all would be able to afford. [With the National Gallery Series] my dream of providing chamber music has come true, and I have had the added joy of seeing the importance of these concerts to many young artists starting out in their careers.”

These sentiments inspired Al Booth, founder of the International Music Foundation, to work toward the creation of a similar series in Chicago as a performance opportunity for emerging artists and a chance for everyone to hear high quality music, free of charge.

On October 20, 1977, the first concert of Chicago’s Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concert series took place in the magnificently restored Preston Bradley Hall of the newly re-opened Chicago Public Library Cultural Center.

From the beginning, the concerts have been presented free of charge each week before live audiences of 500. In addition, they are broadcast live over WFMT-FM radio and streamed live at www.wfmt.com. More than 3,000 artists have appeared on the series over the course of the past 40 years. Many have been prize winners from such competitions as the Tchaikovsky, Naumburg, Van Cliburn, Leeds, Chopin, and Rubenstein. Others were recommended by Lord Menuhin, Claudio Abbado, Alfred Brendel, and Leonard Slatkin.

The Dame Myra Hess tradition continues each week, produced by the International Music Foundation, and presented in partnership with the City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events and 98.7 WFMT.   The concerts are made possible by the generous support from the Paul M. Angell Family Foundation, the Ann and Gordon Getty Foundation, and the Union League Club of Chicago.  In addition, we are grateful to be supported in part through grants from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

To learn more about Dame Myra Hess, click here.


Applications to appear on the Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concert Series are currently closed. Please check back in August, 2021 for the next round of applications.

Pin It on Pinterest