Trio Internazionale 

Elizandro Garcia-Montoya, clarinet

Andrei Muravev, bassoon

Chuang Li, piano

April 7, 2021

Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts

David Schwan, host


Miguel Del Aguila – Tango Trio (6′)

Mikhail Glinka – Trio Pathétique in D minor (16′)

I. Allegro Moderato

II. Scherzo. Vivacissimo

III. Largo

IV. Allegro con spirito

Igor Frolov; arr. Nataly Frolova – Concert Fantasy on Themes from Gershwin’s opera “Porgy and Bess” (15′)

*USA premiere of arrangement

Elizandro Garcia Montoya is a versatile musician. In addition to performing with the Trio Internazionale, Elizandro is a member of the Fifth House Ensemble in Chicago, principal clarinetist with the Elmhurst Symphony and a member of the Chicago Philharmonic. He is former principal clarinet of the Sarasota Opera, Mexico State Orchestra and Mineria Symphony in Mexico City. Elizandro has performed with the Jacksonville Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, and was the silver prize winner of the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition in 1999. Elizandro holds a Bachelor’s degree from Baylor University, a Master’s degree from Rice University and a Professional Studies diploma from Cleveland Institute of Music. His major teachers include Larry Combs, Richard Shanley, Michael Webster and Franklin Cohen. Elizandro lives in Chicago and teaches clarinet at DePaul University’s Community Music Program, the Musical Offering in Evanston and Loyola University-Chicago.

Andrei Muravev is an acclaimed solo, chamber and orchestral bassoonist. He began taking bassoon lessons at the age of ten. Since then, Andrei has won numerous national and international competitions in addition to appearing on two radio stations, WFMT Chicago and Deutsche Welle, Germany. He has appeared as soloist with orchestras in Russia, United States and Japan. His extensive orchestra experience includes performing with the Chicago, San Antonio, Austin, Fort Worth Symphonies, Chicago Sinfonietta, St. Petersburg’s Mariinsky Theatre, as well as audio and video recordings with the St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra for Naxos Records.

Chinese-born pianist Chuang Li joined Chicago’s Trio Internazionale in 2020 and became a valuable asset. Before this, he performed numerous solo piano recitals in China, Russia, Denmark, and the United States. Recently, he won the First Prize in the Young Artist Competition of the North State Symphony in Chico, California. Chuang Li’s talent and enthusiasm for music and piano were evident at five years old and soon he gave his first solo recital at the Sichuan Conservatory of Music, China. In 2013, Chuang Li won the First Prize at the Imola International Piano Competition and later he was selected to participate in the Tanglewood Music Festival. Currently, Chuang Li is a graduate piano student at DePaul University under the tutelage of Professor George Vatchnadze. He also studied with Boris Berman, Jeremy Denk, Vladimir Feltsman, Alexander Korsantia and Ursula Oppens.

Miguel Del Aguila (b. 1957)

Tango Trio (2002) 

Three-time Grammy nominated American composer Miguel del Aguila was born in Uruguay. In over 130 works that combine drama, driving rhythms and nostalgic nods to his South American roots, he has established himself among the most distinctive and highly regarded composers of his generation. His music, which enjoys over 200 performances yearly, has been hailed as “brilliant and witty” (New York Times), “sonically dazzling” (LATimes) and “expressive and dramatic” (American Record Guide).

Tango Trio was written in 2002 in New York. It premiered at the Chautauqua Music Festival that summer by the New Arts Trio. The work evokes Argentine-Uruguayan tango idioms, recalling especially the neo-romantic and sentimental style of the early tango period between 1910 and 1940. The musical language is intense, dramatic and direct, becoming at times melodramatic and humorous.

– Miguel del Aguila

Mikhail Glinka (1804-1857)

Trio Pathétique in D minor (1832) 

Mikhail Ivanovich Glinka is commonly referred to as the founder of Russian nationalist music, being the pioneering composer who brought the European Classical Music tradition from Italy and Germany to Russia. Glinka’s method of mixing Russian folk melodies with the techniques of traditional western European compositional structures influenced many Russian composers to follow including the likes of Mussorgsky, Rimsky-Korsakov and Borodin. 

Composed at the age of 28, Glinka wrote ‘I know the love only by the sorrows which it causes” as an epigraph on his Trio Pathétique in D minor. Glinka was extremely ill at the time of the premiere and expressed that he “fell into the cruelest despair” from the composition and performance of the Trio. This work follows the standard classical four-movement structure but with his early Romanticism style.


Igor Frolov (b. 1937)

arr. Nataly Frolova

Concert Fantasy on Themes from Gershwin’s opera “Porgy and Bess” (2008) 

Igor Frolov, grew up in a musically stimulating environment, being the son of a violin teacher and an accompanist. Frolov was a composer, violinist, conductor and professor at the Moscow Conservatory and was often selected as the head of judges at the Tchaikovsky International Competition for violin. Although trained in the classical tradition, many of his compositions contain elements of jazz, which can be heard today in his Concert Fantasy on themes from Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess. 

Concert Fantasy on themes from Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess was originally composed by Igor Frolov for violin and piano earning popularity and admiration in it’s own right. The success of the original composition inspired Russian pianist and arranger Nataly Frolova to arrange the work for clarinet, bassoon, giving the piece a new line of performing life. Colored by clarinet and bassoon timbres, the Fantasy becomes a composition with exceptional and rich sound palettes. Arranged in 2008 and beloved by Russian audiences, this performance is the USA premiere. 

Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts are made possible through the generosity of the Paul M. Angell Family Foundation, the Ann and Gordon Getty Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Illinois Arts Council and the Union League Club of Chicago.
Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts are presented in partnership with the City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events and 98.7 WFMT

Don’t miss David Weigel and Chris Reynolds

next week on the

Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts!

Wednesday April 14, 12:15pm

Pin It on Pinterest